skip to content

Refine results

Search by

Search by Algolia
Law Handbook banner image

Types of Remotely Piloted Aircraft and Restrictions Based on Weight

What a person can and can not do with their Remotely Piloted Aircraft (RPA), and what type of licence, if any, they will need will be determined by the weight class of the RPA [Civil Aviation Safety Regulations 1998 (Cth)].

The weight categories are:

  • Micro: gross weight of 100 g or less;
  • Very small: gross weight of more than 100 g and less than 2 kg;
  • Small: gross weight of at least 2 kg and less than 25 kg;
  • Medium: gross weight of at least 25 kg and less than or equal to 150 kg (or, for airships, an envelope of 100 m3 or less);
  • Large: gross weight greater than 150 kg (or, for airships, more than a 100 m3 envelope).

See Volume 4, Dictionary Definitions, Civil Aviation Safety Regulations 1998 (Cth).

Some types of RPA can be operated without the need for a remote pilot licence and an operator’s certificate; they are referred to as excluded RPAoperations [reg 101.237].

All other RPA require either a remote pilot licence or an operators certificate or both [reg 101. 252].

Types of Remotely Piloted Aircraft and Restrictions Based on Weight  :  Last Revised: Wed Dec 12th 2018
The content of the Law Handbook is made available as a public service for information purposes only and should not be relied upon as a substitute for legal advice. See Disclaimer for details. For free and confidential legal advice in South Australia call 1300 366 424.